Frequently Asked Questions

How do I get personalized help!

Register with NoVA Defense Commuter for assistance and staff will provide personalized help answering your questions and identifying the best options for your commute.

For more information please email Cristin Orr Shiffer, NoVA Defense Commuter Program Coordinator, at cshiffer@novaregion.org or Peggy Tadej, Community, Military & Federal Facilities Partnership Director, at peggy.tadej@novaregion.org.


What happens if I need to leave work early or stay late and I’ve travelled in with a vanpool or carpool?

The Guaranteed Ride Home program provides commuters who regularly (twice a week) carpool, vanpool, bike, walk or take transit to work with a FREE and reliable ride home when one of life’s unexpected emergencies arise.

Commuters may take advantage of GRH up to four times per year to get home for unexpected emergencies such as a personal illness or a sick child. GRH can also be used for unscheduled overtime when your employer mandates that you must stay late.

GRH is designed to rescue commuters who are worried about how they’ll get home when an emergency arises. Knowing there’s a guaranteed ride home allows one to use commuting options like transit and carpools with peace of mind and confidence.


Who administers the NoVA Defense Commuter program?

The NoVA Defense Commuter program was established to reduce congestion and improve the commuting experience for Northern Virginia residents by increasing the use of alternative transportation methods among individuals commuting to military bases and federal installations in Northern Virginia.

In order to provide a centralized location for resources and education on alternative commuting methods that address the unique challenges associated with commuting to federal installations, Northern Virginia Regional Commission established this NoVA Defense Commuter website.

The Northern Virginia Regional Commission (NVRC) is a regional council of thirteen member local governments in the Northern Virginia suburbs of Washington DC. Funding support for this NoVA Defense Commuter website is provided by a Commuter Choice grant which invests toll revenues in public transit and other multimodal projects along two expressway corridors, I-66 and I-395/95, in Northern Virginia.


Regional

Rideshare

Contacts

VIRGINIA

Alexandria

Geralyn Taylor

703 746 4084

geralyn.taylor@alexandriava.gov 

Fairfax

Luisa Nicaragua

703 877 5704 luisa.nicaragua@fairfaxcounty.gov

Loudoun County

Judy Galen

703 737 8044

Judy.galen@loudoun.gov

Prince William County

Holly Morello

703 580 6130

hmorellow@omniride.com

Spotsylvania/Stafford

Leigh Anderson

540 373 2890

anderson@gwregion.org

MARYLAND

Howard County

Allison Calkins

410 313 3388

acalkins@howardcountymd.gov

Prince George’s County

Ashley Skipper

301 883 3388

askipper@co.pg.md.us

Southern MD

George Clark

301 870 2520 Ext 819

gclark@tccsmd.org


Northern Virginia

Regional Commission

Cristin Orr Shiffer

Military Transportation Coordinator cshiffer@novaregion.org

BE COVID-SAFE WHILE

USING MASS TRANSIT

• Wear a mask

• Don't talk in transit

• Open windows to maximize ventilation

• Shorter trips are safer

Back to top


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software